New series- The Reality of Mental illness

Someone said to me the other day that having Bipolar disorder was seen as “cool” and “fashionable” so in response I have decided to write a new series of articles detailing the day to day reality of having a mental illness to show how different the reality of living with a mental illness is so different from the image portrayed by the media and certain celebrities that I shall not name.

I aim to cover quite a few topics but so far on my list I have…

Money
Medication
Stigma
Suicide
Self harm
Common misconceptions
Juggling appointments
Psychiatrists
Social workers/ CPNs
Staying in work/ study
Relationships
Pregnancy and having a family
Friendships
Psychiatric wards
Being put on a section
Physical health
Food and nutrition
Creativity

I’m sure I will think of more sections as I go along but if anyone has any suggestions then please feel free to leave a comment with their idea or you can email me:

juggleglass(at)gmail(dot)com

Also if anyone feels like writing a section with their personal day to day experiances of either one of the sections above or their own then I would love to hear from you.

