Lithium and psychotherapy

I’m feeling on top of the world.

I’ve been taking lithium for about a month and a half now and it appears to be doing its job quite effectively. I’m back to a state I haven’t been in for years: my mood is stable and I feel like all is well with the world. I’m also getting lots done at work. Who would have thought a medication so old would be so effective?  I’m still sleeping excessively but one thing at a time I suppose.

I had an assessment for psychotherapy the other day. I have never felt more uncomfortable; the psychotherapist barely looked at me or said anything and I didn’t have much to say: it was a disaster! I have to go back for a further assessment in a couple of weeks which I am not looking forward to. Another hour of uncomfortable silence and awkwardness, great!

