six months without alcohol

So I quit drinking six months ago

The last time I had a drink I lost control of my emotions and slit my wrist, which required seven stitches, so I decided that I should quit drinking.

It’s been six months now and it still isn’t easy. Whenever people ask me to come out drinking its really hard to say no. Most of the time I still don’t feel up to being around people drinking.

The hardest part is days when drinking is expected, like Christmas or New Year’s Eve.

This New Years Eve the boyfriend and I went to see a stand up comedy night which was great (not too much pressure) but after the show there was a nightclub where everyone was drinking and having fun. I felt really left out and like I really wanted to have one but I knew that if I have any alcohol I wont be able to control my emotions and might end up hurting myself.

On the bright side, it’s been six months and no alcohol, I think I should be proud of myself!

